logo FH BernBern University of Applied Sciences (BFH) provides a programme in teachingresearch and development, continuing education as well as consulting services that is innovative and practice oriented. It therefore makes an important contribution to the status of the region of Bern as a university hub as well as creating an attractive environment for both disciplinary and interdisciplinary activities. With a total of 33 locations in Bern, Biel and Burgdorf, BFH is deeply rooted in the region. National and international networks promote the configuration of appropriate general conditions and enable its students and staff to develop their skills in the best possible ways.

BFH is an educational institution with the aim of training highly qualified specialists and managers and enabling them to take on responsible tasks in business, culture and society. This requires teaching of the highest quality, both professionally and didactically, which enables students to make an active contribution to social transformation during and after their studies.

BFH sees itself as a modern, innovative university that wants to live up to its social responsibility. In response, it aims to align its profile with the great transformations that society is undergoing today. In December 2020 BFH identified sustainable development as its strategic field. With its teaching, research, continuing education and its consulting services BFH aims to contribute actively towards achieving the global sustainability development goals of Agenda 2030 (Sustainable Development Goals) and to take on the function of a role model.

Studies at BFH focus on enabling people to think and act in a sustainable way. Graduates should be able to assess the impact of their own actions on people and the environment and on future generations and make responsible decisions accordingly. With such future-oriented competences, BFH graduates will be able to contribute actively to the transformation of a future-proof society we seek.


Website of Bern University of Applied Sciences

Members map

members map

Founding members

These institutions supported the foundation of the COPERNICUS Alliance in 2010 by donating an extra sponsorship: 

  • University of Graz, Austria
  • University of Music and Performing Arts Graz, Austria
  • University of Technology Graz, Austria
  • WU Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria
  • Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Leuphana University Luneburg, Germany
  • Open Universiteit in the Netherlands, The Netherlands
  • London South Bank University, UK
  • University of Gloucestershire, UK