Warsaw logoThe University Centre for Environmental Studies and Sustainable Development (UCES) is a unique, interdisciplinary institution in the field of establishing standards of education for sustainable development and it is widely recognized in Poland. UCES initiated the University of Warsaw’s membership of the COPERNICUS Alliance European Network on Higher Education for Sustainable Development. The flagship activity of the UCES is an open cycle of lectures on “Selected Issues of Sustainable Development” aimed at students from all faculties and also journalists, teachers and all interested academic staff. We aim to introduce sustainable development not only in terms of academic theory but also in practice in all spheres of University life.

Being a member of the COPERNICUS Alliance provides us opportunities to learn from good practices from other Higher Education Institutions carrying out sustainability initiatives and challenges us to strengthen our efforts. The University Centre for Environmental Studies and Sustainable Development is a partner in the international European project, University Educators for Sustainable Development (UE4SD), and this activity and membership in the COPERNICUS Alliance accords with the University of Warsaw’s commitment to social responsibility.

For more information about the University Centre for Environmental Studies and Sustainable Development please contact: Dr. Anna Batorczak This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Website: http://ucbs.uw.edu.pl/


► Website of The University of Warsaw


Members map

members map

Founding members

These institutions supported the foundation of the COPERNICUS Alliance in 2010 by donating an extra sponsorship: 

  • University of Graz, Austria
  • University of Music and Performing Arts Graz, Austria
  • University of Technology Graz, Austria
  • WU Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria
  • Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Leuphana University Luneburg, Germany
  • Open Universiteit in the Netherlands, The Netherlands
  • London South Bank University, UK
  • University of Gloucestershire, UK