University of Siena


sienaThe University of Siena has a long tradition in the promotion of research, teaching and good practices on sustainability. Many scientists have been and are involved in these areas as sustainability is a top priority for the University of Siena.
The University of Siena (Italy) hosts the UN-SDSN MEDITERRANEAN, the Regional hub for the Mediterranean of the Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN), directed by Professor Jeffrey Sachs (Columbia University).

The University of Siena promotes the introduction of this content into its existing curricula and helps to promote it. Furthermore, since 2014 the University of Siena organizes a blended Massive Open Online Course (MOOC), bringing together senior scientists and young researchers mainly, but not only, from around the Mediterranean region in order to provide a shared resource regarding the peculiarities of the management of sustainable development in MED area. The MOOC course provide the basis for understanding the problems connected to sustainability in all its aspects, analyzing environmental, economic, financial, social, juridical and institutional aspects of the communication.

These activities are carried out by Professors and Researchers of this University and coordinated within the SANTA CHIARA LAB (, the innovation hub of the University of Siena based on the principle of multidisciplinary and transdisciplinary intellectual inquiry to explore new perspectives at the frontiers of knowledge.
The above mentioned activities and research projects represent the main motive for our University to join the CA network, with the aim of contributing to further enhance the excellent activities that make the COPERNICUS Alliance such a high quality network in the field of sustainability in higher education.

Members map

members map

Founding members

These institutions supported the foundation of the COPERNICUS Alliance in 2010 by donating an extra sponsorship: 

  • University of Graz, Austria
  • University of Music and Performing Arts Graz, Austria
  • University of Technology Graz, Austria
  • WU Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria
  • Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Leuphana University Luneburg, Germany
  • Open Universiteit in the Netherlands, The Netherlands
  • London South Bank University, UK
  • University of Gloucestershire, UK